Verstappen escapes F1 Turkish GP pit exit penalty – F1

by Nov 15, 20200 comments

[ad_1]

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen has escaped sanction after he was investigated for crossing the white line at the pit exit during Formula 1’s Turkish Grand Prix.

Typically the offence triggers a five-second time penalty, which would have led to him swapping his sixth place with his team mate Alex Albon, who finished 1.6 seconds behind him.

TV images appeared to show Verstappen crossing or at least touching the line, but after reviewing various angles the stewards determined that the evidence was not conclusive, and thus in effect gave him the benefit of the doubt.

In their decision the stewards noted: “Having reviewed video evidence from a wide variety of cameras and angles at the highest resolutions available, the stewards are unable to find conclusive evidence that demonstrates beyond a reasonable doubt that any part of Car 33 crossed completely over the white line separating the pit exit from the track.”

The stewards also took no action against the Haas team for an alleged unsafe release involving Kevin Magnussen.

The Dane was told to stop after he pulled away from a pit stop when the team thought that a wheel was not properly secure, and he parked at the end of the pitlane and retired.

After talking to the team the stewards decided that it was not an unsafe release.

They explained: “The team representative stated that the left rear mechanic was not sure if the tyre was secured properly and therefore they decided to stop the car out of an abundance of caution.

“The stewards considered that with the available evidence it was not possible to determine if the car was released in an unsafe condition.”

In a third post-race investigation Williams driver Nicholas Latifi was given his first reprimand of his rookie season for causing a collision with Romain Grosjean, an incident that saw both drivers spin.

Contact was made after Daniel Ricciardo and Grosjean both came up to pass the Canadian, who understeered into the Haas. The stewards took a lenient approach given the tricky conditions.

They noted: “Car 6 [Latifi] received the blue flag notification and was notified that Car 3 [Ricciardo] and Car 8 [Grosjean] were behind him and approaching as he exited Turn 8.

“Approaching Turn 9, he pulled to the left expecting both cars to go by. Car 3 made the pass prior to the apex of the corner, but as Car 6 approached the apex with a very slippery section of track in front of him, Car 8 had to turn for the apex in order to make the corner on the outside.

“Car 6 understeered on the slippery surface and contacted Car 8. Car 6 was at fault, but his actions were mitigated by the very challenging track conditions in that corner; hence only a reprimand is given.”

Autosport has produced a standalone special magazine to celebrate our 70th birthday. All current print subscribers will receive a copy for free. To pre-order your copy of the 196-page Autosport 70th Anniversary issue, please go to: autosport.com/autosport70th

[ad_2]

Source link

Read MoreĀ 

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

[ad_1] In an iconic moment, at Silverstone yesterday, Mick Schumacher took to the wheel of the Jordan in which his father made his F1 debut thirty years ago.The Haas driver was on tyre testing duty for Pirelli at Silverstone, when, during the lunch break, Sky Sports...

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

[ad_1] The humble station wagon has always been in the shadows of the traditional family sedans and the versatile modern crossover SUVs.With the long-roof body style only representing about two percent of the total vehicle sales in the US, it is evident that the...

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

[ad_1] Lando Norris: "A good first sprint quali race! I think we achieved everything we could've hoped for today. We got ahead of one of the Red Bulls, which is a quicker car, but we managed to beat them off the start and over the first lap, so it was a fun...

Russell handed grid penalty – Pitpass.com

Russell handed grid penalty – Pitpass.com

[ad_1] George Russell has been handed a 3-place grid penalty for Sunday's British Grand Prix after being adjudged as causing the collision with Carlos Sainz.Having spoken with both drivers and viewed the relevant video evidence, the stewards founds that Russell and...

Leave a comment.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *