National Driver Rankings: FF1600 champion Maclennan into top 10 – National

by Nov 5, 20200 comments


Newly-crowned National Formula Ford 1600 champion Neil Maclennan has surged into the top 10 of Autosport’s National Driver Rankings after last weekend’s Walter Hayes Trophy.

Although the Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum driver finished second in the final, losing out to Oliver White, he did pick up two victories over the course of the Silverstone weekend to take his 2020 win tally to nine and he therefore jumped from 17th on the leaderboard to eighth.

Maclennan emerged triumphant in the second heat after a surprisingly intense scrap with team-mate and two-time event winner Michael Moyers, before also winning the opening semi-final, having grabbed the lead at the start.

Despite eight race meetings taking place over a busy weekend of national motorsport, there were no other changes in the top 10 of the rankings and very few inside the whole of the top 50.

Aside from Maclennan, another driver to make major gains was Fiesta Junior racer Joseph Loake. He picked up wins number seven and eight of the year at Croft to end his season as an unbeaten champion.

Those two wins mean he has surged up the table, jumping from 42nd up to 13th place.

Elsewhere, MG Midget Special Saloons and Modsports racer Andy Southcott took a victory at Mallory Park to leap up to 20th place, from 34th.

A new driver to break into top 50 was Clubmans racer Clive Wood. He won both of the Open Sports and Saloon races at Thruxton over the weekend in his Mallock Mk23 to move into 42nd position.

Despite the imposition of a fresh national lockdown in England, there is still the chance for the rankings to change in the coming weeks.

While none-elite motorsport has been suspended for a second time in 2020, top-level race meetings like the British Touring Car Championship and British GT finales – along with the British Truck Racing season-closer – have been given the green light to go ahead.

The 750 Motor Club has also revealed it plans to run a race meeting at Donington Park in December to replace its two lost November events.

Autosport’s most successful national racers so far in 2020

Pos Driver (Car) Overall wins Class wins Total
1 Cam Jackson (Brabham BT2/Van Diemen RF80/March 709) 15 0 15
2 Marcus Clutton (Radical SR3 RSX/Lamborghini Huracan GT3/Mercedes-AMG GT4) 13 1 14
3 Gary Prebble (Honda Civic/SEAT Leon Cupra 20v T) 13 0 13
4 Lucky Khera (Ferrari 488 Challenge/BMW M3 E46) 11 1 12
5 Harry Senior (Caterham Sigmax) 10 0 10
6 Lewis Saunders (Citroen Saxo VTR) 10 0 10
7 Harry King (Porsche 911 GT3 Cup) 10 0 10
8 Neil Maclennan (Spectrum KMR) 9 0 9
9 Tom Golding (Ginetta G40 Cup) 9 0 9
10 John Byrne (Caterham 420R) 8 0 8
11 Paul Brydon (Solution F BMW M3) 8 0 8
12 Zak O’Sullivan (Mygale M14-F4) 8 0 8
13 Joseph Loake (Ford Fiesta ST) 8 0 8
14 Michael Pensavalle (BMW M3 E46) 7 1 8
15 Dave Griffin (BMW E36 M3) 3 5 8
16 Connor O’Brien (Mini Se7en S) 0 8 8
17 Phil Jenkins (Caterham 420R) 7 0 7
18 Andy Hiley (Chronos HR1S) 7 0 7
19 James Harridge (Maverick Vee) 7 0 7
20 Andy Southcott (MG Midget Spaceframe) 7 0 7
21 Michael Gibbins (MCR S2000) 7 0 7
22 Jonathan Browne (Ray GR18) 7 0 7
23 Bailey Voisin (Ginetta G40 Junior) 7 0 7
24 Josh Malin (Ginetta G40 GT5) 7 0 7
25 Kaylen Frederick (Tatuus F4-TO14) 7 0 7
26 Tim Mogridge (Ferrari F355 Challenge) 7 0 7
27 James Card (BMW E46 M3) 6 1 7
28 Shane Murphy (SEAT Leon) 6 1 7
29 Murray Shepherd (Locost/Van Diemen RF82) 5 2 7
30 Jeff Smith (Mini Se7en/Austin Mini Cooper S) 5 2 7
31 William Heslop (Ford Fiesta ST/Honda Civic) 4 3 7
32 Shaun Traynor (Toyota MR2 Roadster) 2 5 7
33 Stephen Docker (Ginetta G40 GRDC) 0 7 7
34 Andrew Bourke (Alfa Romeo 156) 0 7 7
35 Dan Clowes (Jedi Mk6/7) 6 0 6
36 Rod Birley (Honda Integra/Ford Escort WRC) 6 0 6
37 Fergus Campbell (MG ZR 170) 6 0 6
38 Luke Cooper (Swift SC18) 6 0 6
39 Ryan Polley (Renault Clio 182) 6 0 6
40 John Seale (Lamborghini Huracan GT3) 6 0 6
41 Richard Wildman (MG Midget) 6 0 6
42 Clive Wood (Mallock U2 Mk23) 6 0 6
43 Luke Browning (Mygale M14-F4) 6 0 6
44 James Dorlin (Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport) 6 0 6
45= Dan Thackeray (Honda Civic Type R) 6 0 6
45= Geoff Richardson (Legend) 6 0 6
47 Ben Short (Mazda MX-5 Mk1) 5 1 6
48 Rich Webb (Caterham Blackbird/Radical SR3) 4 2 6
49 Jamie Sturges (SEAT Leon TCR) 4 2 6
50 Michael Cullen (Stryker/Lotus Cortina) 3 3 6

All car races in UK and Ireland are included except qualification/repechage, consolation and handicap races. No races in other countries. Class wins are only counted when there are at least six starters in the class.

Only classes divided by car characteristics are included. Classes divided by driver characteristics such as ability, professional status, age, experience (for example rookie or pro-am classes) are not included.

Where there is a tie, overall wins take precedence. Where there is still a tie, average grid size for a driver’s wins determines the order.


Source link

Read MoreĀ 

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

[ad_1] In an iconic moment, at Silverstone yesterday, Mick Schumacher took to the wheel of the Jordan in which his father made his F1 debut thirty years ago.The Haas driver was on tyre testing duty for Pirelli at Silverstone, when, during the lunch break, Sky Sports...

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

[ad_1] The humble station wagon has always been in the shadows of the traditional family sedans and the versatile modern crossover SUVs.With the long-roof body style only representing about two percent of the total vehicle sales in the US, it is evident that the...

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

[ad_1] Lando Norris: "A good first sprint quali race! I think we achieved everything we could've hoped for today. We got ahead of one of the Red Bulls, which is a quicker car, but we managed to beat them off the start and over the first lap, so it was a fun...

Russell handed grid penalty –

Russell handed grid penalty –

[ad_1] George Russell has been handed a 3-place grid penalty for Sunday's British Grand Prix after being adjudged as causing the collision with Carlos Sainz.Having spoken with both drivers and viewed the relevant video evidence, the stewards founds that Russell and...

Leave a comment.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.