DTM Hockenheim: Muller defeats Rast in race one to keep his title hopes alive – DTM

by Nov 7, 20200 comments


Nico Muller completed a late move on Rene Rast to win the penultimate DTM race of the season at Hockenheim and keep the title race alive heading into Sunday’s decider.

Title contenders Muller and Rast were engaged in a race-long battle at the German venue, the two trading places several times as two safety car periods added an extra element to the championship fight.

Muller eventually held off Rast in a tense finish to win by 0.6 seconds, ensuring he remains only 13 points behind the German with 28 available on Sunday.

Muller made a better launch than polesitter Rast at the start and made a lunge into Turn 1, the two title protagonists banging wheels as Rast was forced well off track.

Muller emerged out of the chaos in the lead, but the race was soon neutralised for a collision between BMW’s Marco Wittmann and WRT Audi’s Harrison Newey that sent both drivers into retirement.

Muller perfected the restart to build a 0.6s buffer as racing resumed, only for Rast to close the gap and attempt a move around the outside of the hairpin on the following tour.

While that attempt turned out to be unsuccessful, Rast got a much better run coming out of Turn 5 the next time and he breezed past Muller to return to the front.

Muller launched a counterattack and tried to repass Rast twice at the hairpin, but the Team Rosberg driver managed to rebuff each of Muller’s attempts to maintain the status quo.

When the pitstops began, Muller was the first to head to the pitlane on lap 17, with Rast following on the next lap.

The undercut worked for Muller, with Rast dropping not only behind him but also the Audis of Robin Frijns and Jamie Green.

However, with the pace advantage Rast had, he swiftly cleared Muller’s team-mate Frijns before passing his own team-mate Green with relative ease on lap 22.

By that time, Muller had stretched a 4s buffer out front, but Rast managed to wipe out his title rival’s advantage in no time, and was on his tail by lap 27.

On the following tour, Rast replicated the same move he had completed on Muller earlier in the race, passing the Abt Audi driver well before the hairpin to snatch the lead.

At this point, it appeared that Rast had done enough to take the victory, but a retirement for BMW’s Timo Glock brought about a late safety car, throwing a spanner in the works.

After Glock’s car was retrieved, the race resumed for a handful of laps, with Muller right on the tail of Rast, and Green not far behind in third.

Assisted with DRS and push-to-pass, Muller dived around the outside of Rast heading into the hairpin and, although he overshot the corner, he did enough to take the lead.

Rast put intense pressure on Muller in the closing stages of the race, but the Swiss driver did enough to hold on for the victory, taking the title battle to Sunday’s finale.

Green finished just behind the title rivals in third, returning to the podium for the first time since the season-opener at Spa.

Loic Duval finished nearly 5s behind in fourth, with his Phoenix team-mate Mike Rockenfeller making it an all-Audi top five.

Jonathan Aberdein was classified as the top BMW driver in sixth, ahead of Audi’s Frijns, who is now mathematically out of the title fight.

Robert Kubica was sandwiched at the start but successfully avoided any damage to his ART-run BMW to take eighth and secure his third points finish of the season.

BMW duo Philipp Eng and Sheldon van der Linde rounded out the top 10, the latter slipping down the order after contending for the final podium position at one stage.

Result – 36 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Nico Muller Abt Audi 1h01m11.045s
2 Rene Rast Rosberg Audi 0.622s
3 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 1.033s
4 Loic Duval Phoenix Audi 4.960s
5 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 6.311s
6 Jonathan Aberdein RMR BMW 6.580s
7 Robin Frijns Abt Audi 6.727s
8 Robert Kubica ART BMW 8.668s
9 Philipp Eng RBM BMW 9.025s
10 Sheldon van der Linde RBM BMW 11.056s
11 Ferdinand Habsburg WRT Audi 12.646s
12 Lucas Auer RMR BMW 15.244s
13 Fabio Scherer WRT Audi 5 Laps
14 Timo Glock RMG BMW 9 Laps
Harrison Newey WRT Audi Retirement
Marco Wittmann RMG BMW Retirement

Drivers’ standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Rene Rast 325
2 Nico Muller 312
3 Robin Frijns 268
4 Mike Rockenfeller 127
5 Timo Glock 116
6 Sheldon van der Linde 106
7 Loic Duval 100
8 Marco Wittmann 95
9 Jamie Green 82
10 Ferdinand Habsburg 65
11 Jonathan Aberdein 54
12 Lucas Auer 51
13 Philipp Eng 47
14 Harrison Newey 27
15 Robert Kubica 20
16 Fabio Scherer 20
17 Benoit Treluyer 0


Source link

Read MoreĀ 

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

[ad_1] In an iconic moment, at Silverstone yesterday, Mick Schumacher took to the wheel of the Jordan in which his father made his F1 debut thirty years ago.The Haas driver was on tyre testing duty for Pirelli at Silverstone, when, during the lunch break, Sky Sports...

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

[ad_1] The humble station wagon has always been in the shadows of the traditional family sedans and the versatile modern crossover SUVs.With the long-roof body style only representing about two percent of the total vehicle sales in the US, it is evident that the...

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

[ad_1] Lando Norris: "A good first sprint quali race! I think we achieved everything we could've hoped for today. We got ahead of one of the Red Bulls, which is a quicker car, but we managed to beat them off the start and over the first lap, so it was a fun...

Russell handed grid penalty – Pitpass.com

Russell handed grid penalty – Pitpass.com

[ad_1] George Russell has been handed a 3-place grid penalty for Sunday's British Grand Prix after being adjudged as causing the collision with Carlos Sainz.Having spoken with both drivers and viewed the relevant video evidence, the stewards founds that Russell and...

Leave a comment.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *