MotoGP champion Joan Mir, his rivals Franco Morbidelli and Alex Rins, and World Superbike dominator Jonathan Rea are the 2020 nominees for Autosport’s Rider of the Year Award.

This year’s edition of the Autosport Awards will be online, with increased digital coverage, and will continue the tradition of celebrating the best of the motorsport season.

The Rider of the Year Award is open to those competing in any of MotoGP’s three racing categories or equivalent series. The Award was introduced in 2016 and has been won every year so far by Marc Marquez. subscribers and magazine readers will be able to vote for the nominee they think performed best in each category during the season. The winners will be announced in December, again across multiple digital platforms, as well as Autosport magazine, which is celebrating its 70th birthday in 2020.

To have your say on the 2020 winners, go to

Rider nominees

Joan Mir

In the absence of six-time champion Marc Marquez, Suzuki rider Mir was the most consistent campaigner in his sophomore year. The Spaniard’s haul of six podiums and European Grand Prix victory put him in command of the championship while his main rivals were plagued by inconsistency, and he claimed the crown with a round to go.

Franco Morbidelli

Morbidelli has arguably been the biggest surprise of 2020. Though his talent was never in doubt, his run of three victories on 2019-spec machinery vaulted him to lead Yamaha rider late in the season. With a bit more luck, the Italian could well have challenged harder for the world title.

Jonathan Rea

The king of World Superbikes fended off a stiff challenge from series debutant Scott Redding on the Ducati to claim his sixth world title. Adding a further 11 wins to his tally brings him one away from a century of WSBK victories, cementing him as the greatest Superbike rider ever.

Alex Rins

He overcame an early-season shoulder injury to storm back into title contention late on with victory at Aragon, as well as three other podiums. Perhaps Rins would have been Suzuki’s first champion in 20 years without his early-season woes, but he more than proved he is a frontrunning MotoGP rider.

Head to to register your vote on the best of motorsport in 2020.

Autosport has produced a standalone special magazine to celebrate our 70th birthday. All current print subscribers will receive a copy for free. To order your copy of the 196-page Autosport 70th Anniversary issue, please go to:

Source link