Autosport reveals National Driver of the Year Award nominees – Autosport Awards

by Nov 19, 20200 comments


British Touring Car stars Ash Sutton and Colin Turkington, GT pacesetter Phil Keen and rising Porsche Carrera Cup GB star Harry King are the 2020 nominees for Autosport’s National Driver of the Year Award.

The 2020 edition of the Autosport Awards will be online, with increased digital coverage, and will continue the tradition of celebrating the best of the motorsport season.

The National Driver Award is open to drivers competing in the BTCC, British GT or at FIA Formula 3 level. Turkington won the Award last year and has taken the laurels three times, while other winners include BTCC champions Jason Plato, Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden, and current McLaren F1 star Lando Norris. subscribers and magazine readers will be able to vote for the nominee they think performed best in each category during the season. The winners will be announced in December, again across multiple digital platforms, as well as Autosport magazine, which is celebrating its 70th birthday in 2020.

To have your say on the 2020 winners, go to

National Driver nominees

Phil Keen
Keen missed out on the British GT title again, but remained the championship’s star performer in 2020. Despite an influx of young talent, the 37-year-old was still the benchmark. As well as his two wins alongside Adam Balon, Keen also set fastest lap in seven of the nine races in a Barwell-run Lamborghini.

Harry King
Twelve wins from the 16 races, 13 fastest laps, unbeaten in qualifying until the finale and a driving style that rings every bit of performance out of the Porsche Carrera Cup GB car. King has been spectacular to watch and enjoyed incredible success this season, winning the title at a canter.

Ash Sutton
With the old BMR Subaru BTCC team effectively folding at the end of last season, it was a risk for Sutton and mentor Warren Scott to transfer the BMR engineering staff to Laser Tools Racing’s new Infiniti project. But Sutton drove the wheels off it, was the BTCC’s master overtaker, and was a deserving champion.

Colin Turkington
The old Turkington/WSR/BMW combination has been the one to beat in the BTCC and the Northern Irishman only narrowly missed out on a fifth crown in 2020. As usual, he was the king of maximising the points while on heavy success ballast. He remains the classiest performer in the series.

Head to to register your vote on the best of motorsport in 2020.

Autosport has produced a standalone special magazine to celebrate our 70th birthday. All current print subscribers will receive a copy for free. To order your copy of the 196-page Autosport 70th Anniversary issue, please go to:


Source link

Read MoreĀ 

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

Schumacher drives father’s Jordan 191

[ad_1] In an iconic moment, at Silverstone yesterday, Mick Schumacher took to the wheel of the Jordan in which his father made his F1 debut thirty years ago.The Haas driver was on tyre testing duty for Pirelli at Silverstone, when, during the lunch break, Sky Sports...

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

3 Performance Wagons that give Supercars a run for their money

[ad_1] The humble station wagon has always been in the shadows of the traditional family sedans and the versatile modern crossover SUVs.With the long-roof body style only representing about two percent of the total vehicle sales in the US, it is evident that the...

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

British GP: Sprint team notes – McLaren

[ad_1] Lando Norris: "A good first sprint quali race! I think we achieved everything we could've hoped for today. We got ahead of one of the Red Bulls, which is a quicker car, but we managed to beat them off the start and over the first lap, so it was a fun...

Russell handed grid penalty –

Russell handed grid penalty –

[ad_1] George Russell has been handed a 3-place grid penalty for Sunday's British Grand Prix after being adjudged as causing the collision with Carlos Sainz.Having spoken with both drivers and viewed the relevant video evidence, the stewards founds that Russell and...

Leave a comment.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.