Autosport’s grand prix editor Alex Kalinauckas has won Motorsport UK’s coveted Young Journalist of the Year award, succeeding Formula E reporter and editorial assistant Matt Kew as its current winner.

Alex, who began covering Formula 1 this season having worked his way up reporting on numerous junior categories and Formula E, claimed the Motorsport UK trophy for his tireless efforts throughout 2020 – frequently filing his F1 features late into the night as he dissects each race with a surgeon-like precision.

He nominated features on how the British Grand Prix was saved amid the COVID-19 pandemic, how teams joined the fight against coronavirus, and his British GP report following Lewis Hamilton’s victory despite a tyre blowout in the dying stages of the race.

In honour of his win, Alex will receive the Motorsport UK trophy and a cheque for £1000, which he is expected to spend on his Autosport colleagues in the pub when normality resumes.

He will also receive a year’s membership to the Guild of Motoring Writers.

“I am delighted to win this award and still finding it hard to believe it’s happened!” said Alex.

“I’m incredibly grateful and thankful to the judges for their decision and I’m pleased to have had my work recognised in what was a particularly challenging year for so many people working in motorsport – it was an honour to play a part in telling their stories.

“Finally, I’d just like to say what a privilege it is to join the list of winners of this award – it’s packed full of names I respect and admire, including many past and present Autosport colleagues – and say thank you to Motorsport UK for promoting journalism’s place within the sport.”

Alex is the sixth writer in a row to win the Young Journalist award while employed at Autosport, having succeeded Matt Kew, James Newbold and Stephen Lickorish as an award victor – as Scott Mitchell and Jack Benyon commenced Autosport’s streak.

Motorsport UK commended the high standard of applications in this year’s awards, as photographer Jack Clayden scooped the photography honours.

“I would like to congratulate Alex and Jack, as well as all the other candidates who took part in the Young Media Awards,” said Hugh Chambers, CEO Motorsport UK.

“Each year, the quality of entries is so impressive, and it is a privilege for Motorsport UK to award these talented young professionals.

“This competition has been a Motorsport UK tradition for nearly 20 years, and we hope our 2020 winners will join our past alumni, and go on to achieve great things in the industry and promote the sport we all love to the highest of standards.”

Source link