Alpine has confirmed its roster of junior driver talent for the 2021 season, including three drivers who will race in Formula 2.

Christian Lundgaard – the longest-serving member of the programme which, like the F1 team, was formerly known as the Renault Sport Academy – and Guanyu Zhou will continue in F2 with the same teams as before.

Zhou, who finished sixth in the championship last year, enters his third season with Virtuosi. Lundgaard, who came seventh, remains at ART. They are joined by Formula 3 champion Oscar Piastri, whose promotion to F2 with Prema was announced previously.

Two other Alpine-backed drivers will race in Formula 3 this year. Caio Collet and Victor Martins will both race for MP. Martins is returning to Alpine’s young driver squad having previously been dropped from it at the end of 2019, before beating Collet to the Formula Renault Eurocup title last year.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2021 Formula 2 grid so far

Team Car Driver
ART 1 Theo Pourchaire
ART 2 Christian Lundgaard
Campos 1 Ralph Boschung
Campos 2 Gianluca Petecof
Carlin 1 Jehan Daruvala
Carlin 2 Dan Ticktum
Charouz 1 TBC
Charouz 2 TBC
DAMS 1 Marcus Armstrong
DAMS 2 Roy Nissany
Hitech 1 Liam Lawson
Hitech 2 Juri Vips
HWA 1 Matteo Nannini
HWA 2 Alessio Deledda
MP 1 Lirim Zendeli
Prema 1 Robert Shwartzman
Prema 2 Oscar Piastri
Trident 1 TBC
Trident 2 TBC
Virtuosi 1 Felipe Drugovich
Virtuosi 2 Guanyu Zhou

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula Two

Browse all Formula Two articles

Source link